Parent & Youth in Residence Program

Parent in Residence and Youth in Residence are young people and families with lived experience in child and youth mental health. The PiR/YiRs utilize each other and their collective experience and expertise to come alongside young people, families and service providers. The PiR/YiRs have a team of peers and a management team that supports the valuable work they do.

The PiR/YiRs provide peer support, mentoring, system navigation, and access to information, resources, networks and education.  Our team of PiR/YiRs currently work in many BC communities, hospitals, and other sites providing Child & Youth Mental Health Services and in Edmonton, Alberta at CASA Child, Adolescent & Family Mental Health.


Who We Serve

  • Youth or young adult with lived experience of mental health and/or substance use challenges
  • Families and caregivers parenting children, youth or young adults with mental health and/or substance use challenges
  • Systems and service providers; to assist in building knowledge, skills and capacity in working well together with youth, young adults and families to enhance mental health outcomes.

The following quote is just one from the 2017 PiR/YiR Program Evaluation. See full report here.

“If we couldn’t count on the PiR in the background to be the glue connecting and supporting families, it would be much more of a challenge to manage waitlists.” – CYMH Clinician

“The YiR saved my life, as a young person who ‘fell through the cracks.'”  – Youth

Contact A Parent or Youth In Residence

Community-Based Parents in Residence

Abbotsford – Corinna Landsberger

     corinna.landsberger@familysmart.ca

Burnaby / New Westminster – Graeme Partridge-David

     graeme.partridge-david@familysmart.ca

Campbell River / Comox Valley – Wendy Safruik

     wendy.safruik@familysmart.ca

Chilliwack / Fraser Cascade – Katrina Maroney

     katrina.maroney@familysmart.ca

Kelowna – Lori Raible (PiR)

     lori.raible@familysmart.ca

Langley

info@familysmart.ca

Maple Ridge / Pitt Meadows – Jeannie Harnett

jeannie.harnett@familysmart.ca

Mission – Monica Thimer

monica.thimer@familysmart.ca

North Shore (North & West Vancouver) – Ann Louise Filbert

annlouise.filbert@familysmart.ca

Prince George – Kathy Buhler

kathy.buhler@familysmart.ca

Richmond – Jamie Agtarap

jamie.agtarap@familysmart.ca

Smithers – Paula Neglia

     paula.neglia@familysmart.ca

Squamish – Trudie Neubert 

     trudie.neubert@familysmart.ca

Sunshine Coast – Jill Shatford  

jill.shatford@familysmart.ca

Surrey / Delta / White Rock – Nicole Taylor

nicole.taylor@familysmart.ca

Tri-Cities – Marlisse McRobie and Moira Hazlehurst

marlisse.mcrobie@familysmart.ca / moira.hazlehurst@familysmart.ca

VancouverPosted

info@familysmart.ca

Victoria / Sooke / Westshore – Lisa Tate

lisa.tate@familysmart.ca


On-Site Parents in Residence

CAPSU, the Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Stabilization Unit at Surrey Memorial Hospital.

Parent in Residence:

Tammy Musictammy.music@familysmart.ca

Sandra Spanisandra.spani@familysmart.ca

Youth in Residence:

Courtney Harvey

Cass Lucke


PROVINCIAL Parents and Youth in Residence

If you are a parent or youth looking for support today and do not live in an area with a Community PiR or YiR, please feel free to connect with a provincial PiR or YiR by calling the FamilySmart™ Parent in Residence or Youth in Residence at the Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre at BC Children’s Hospital: 604-875-2084 or toll-free: 1-800-665-1822 or email: keltycentre@cw.bc.ca

FamilySmart™ PiR & YiR staff at the Kelty Mental Health Resource Centre:

Parent in Residence:

Marilyn Lawson – marilyn.lawson@familysmart.ca

Kelly Kuerbig – kelly.kuerbig@familysmart.ca

Youth in Residence:

Daphnée Lévesque – daphnee.levesque@familysmart.ca

Ciara Toddington – ciara.toddington@familysmart.ca

CASA (Edmonton) PiRs

Lori Erickson – info@familysmart.ca

Krista Nystrom – info@familysmart.ca

“Even as a GP, it is hard to navigate the system.  Sometimes you see a referral to another agency and you wonder how the family got to that agency so quickly, and it turns out it was the PiR who facilitated that connection.” – GP

There are no charges for accessing our PiR or YiR services and a referral is not required.

While this program is currently only implemented in BC and Edmonton, Alberta, it is our intent to influence and assist other provinces and territories to connect with us about bringing our Parent and Youth in Residence program to your communities.